MHA 2022 Full Program

Each year, the Making History Awards celebrates the accomplishments of individuals or corporations who have left their mark on Chicago. Over the past 28 years, we have honored 123 individuals from all walks of life for their enduring contributions to art and culture, sports, business, and civic life. We have also celebrated 13 companies for their historic corporate achievements. Join us on June 8, 2022 at 6 p.m. at the Four Seasons Hotel, as we share each of our honorees’ unique stories and hear from esteemed colleagues on the importance of their contributions to our community. We will also hear from Chicago History Museum leadership and take a look inside the Museum’s current initiatives and exhibitions.

The Chicago History Museum inaugurated this event in 1995 to provide vital financial support to the Museum’s operations and programs. More than twenty-seven years later, this event is still a cornerstone of the institution, supporting the Museum’s mission to share Chicago’s stories, serving as a hub of scholarship and learning, inspiration, and civic engagement.


2022 Making History Award Honorees

Sandra Cisneros

Author, The House on Mango Street and many other works

The Richard Wright Making History Award
for Distinction in Literature

John Ettelson

CEO, William Blair

The Bertha Honoré Palmer Making History Award for Distinction in Civic Leadership

Robert Falls and Roche Schulfer

Artistic Director and Executive Director, Goodman Theatre

The Theodore Thomas Making History Award for Distinction in the Performing Arts

Dr. Mahalia Hines

President, Common Ground Foundation

The Robert Maynard Hutchins Making History Award
for Distinction in Education

Larry Richman

Former CEO, CIBC Bank USA

The Marshall Field Making History Award for Distinction in Corporate Leadership and Innovation

Contact Us

For more information on supporting or attending the Making History Awards, please contact Nell McKeown, Development Events Manager, at or 312-799-2112

2021 Making History Awards

Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.