Open today 9:30 am - 9:00 pm


The 4th Annual Spark Awards Dinner Benefiting The Chicago Metro History Fair

Wednesday, September 13 — Wednesday, September 13

Since 2013, the Spark Awards have honored individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Chicago history, History Fair, and education. This year, we celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Chicago Metro History Fair. Over these past 40 years, nearly a half million students have participated in History Fair, inspiring them to learn more about their community and sparking their interest in research and history. This annual event supports the Chicago Metro History Fair and educational programs of the Chicago History Museum.

This year, we will honor three outstanding leaders.
• Bill Obenshain
George Javaras Corporate Award
• Polk Bros Foundation
Richard Brown Public Service Award
• Maryhelen Matijevic
Timuel Black Teacher of Excellence Award

Event Honorary Chairs: David Spadafora, Russell Lewis, Kristina Valaitis, Brian Bannon, Richard Jensen

Event Co-Chairs: Mark Trembacki, Shawn Healy

Event Committee: Ron Kaminski, Matthew Krecun, David Perez, Frank Valadez

Sponsored by:

Liz Stiffel










Mark and Debbie Trembacki | Frank Valadez | Dick Simpson



    Tagged in:

The Details



13 th

6:00 p.m.

Event Location

Chicago History Museum 

Chicago History Museum Sharing Chicago's Stories

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter!

Get updates on what’s happening at the Chicago History Museum from exhibitions and programs to special events and more.

What interests you most? Select all that apply.